Why America?

In the last few years I’ve made a few trips to America. If I go for more than a few years without being there something doesn’t feel right. It’s so many things but ultimately it simple, I love it and it feels like home.

I dreamt of living there since I was a kid. I didn’t think much of it at the time but I’ve come to realise that it was a lot bigger than I originally expected or imagined. I’ve started to realise that sometimes these quirky things about personalities and hearts are more than my peculiarity, sometimes they’re God’s way of saying something. Sometimes it’s something to do with destiny.

I know quite a few people who have gone overseas as missionaries and people who feel called to be in New Zealand (and I respect them both). I’ve noticed that occasionally when you mention that you’re going to America or the western world some people have this stance that you can’t possibly be a missionary because missionaries are in Africa.

IMG_3234
Manhatten’s Upper East Side

Here’s the thing though. I don’t know why it is. But my heart burns for this place called America. I love the country but more importantly I love the people and I really feel like God is doing something there and for some reason He’s calling me to be a part of it.

If you get me really talking about America and I will cry.

If you know ‘thecall’ they host prayer gatherings from time to time around America. One of their cofounders Lou Engle sold his house to hire a stadium so that over 100,000 people could pray (look up AsuzaNow) for America in early April this year. If that’s not evidence that God is doing something there I’m not sure what is.

A few years ago someone told me that they felt God wanted me to go to California and dig for gold. I thought that was a little bit impractical to say the least. I was part way through my degree and I couldn’t figure out how that would fit and didn’t really know what it meant. Then several years later I felt God really strongly direct me to Bethel’s School of Supernatural Ministry in California. Some people have been sceptical about this and I can see that it could look like I was chasing a glory cloud or the next big thing.

But I’ve started to realise every part of my life has led me up to this point and now I see its a step of obedience and an answer to a calling that began long ago. I don’t really know what it will lead to or where it will go but it’s become clearer and clearer to go. The gold I’m talking about can’t be bought, it comes from God Himself and its riches are not earthly treasures or glory.

‘I counsel you to buy from me gold refined by fire, so that you may be rich, and white garments so that you may clothe yourself and the shame of your nakedness may not be seen, and salve to anoint your eyes, so that you may see.’ – Revelation 3:18 (ESV).

So maybe America’s a place of equipping or maybe it’s long term. I couldn’t tell you. I know this process will grow me a lot but it’s also about the people that can’t be bought and if for some strange perfect mix of circumstance a girl from New Zealand can help be part of God meeting people over there then I’m all in. And I guess that’s why America makes perfect sense.

Leave a Reply

